LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE | Book Review

A little uninteresting story, I saw this book when it first came out at a local bookstore and I really really wanted to read it but I just never had it in me to really pick it up and read it. Now, I am here. I wonder why I waited for so long before reading this.

The air of intrigue, mystery, and gossip is very dominant in this book. This is such an easy and smooth read for me, it feels likes the typical Asian soap opera that we watch in Filipino TV (haha) but way better of course.

I enjoyed how the writing blended both the past and the present, and how the details of one character’s past were not immediately presented to the reader. Although some people think that the author favors the other as being the protagonist I feel like it really depends on the reader who you think is the protagonist and who is the antagonist. I believe this way of writing is actually an excellent quality that a book should have.

To be honest, I love art but at the same time, I see myself a bit like Mrs. Richardson when it comes to being organized and prefers to do things in a prim and proper way. On the other hand, I also have the tendency to be like Mia who acts on the freedom that she has on her hands. For this book, I enjoyed reading in different age “perspectives” from the youngest Izzy to the teenagers, Lexie, Moody. And the adults, Mrs. Richardson, and the others.

The book builds a slow steady pace, which I found is very common to adult contemporary fiction. So the characters grow a place with you and when the time comes and the big bomb is dropped, you’d have that empathy with the characters which I enjoy so much.

I watched the first episode of the series immediately after I finished the book, and I think I noticed a lot of changes in the story and how they present the characters. Personally, I’m not sure if I’d like to continue watching the series but at least I extinguished the curiosity fire in me.

I highly recommend this book especially for people looking for adult contemporary books that have a very powerful message with regards to social issues that exist even in modern society.

  • LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE
  • Author: David Nicholls
  • Published: September 12, 2017
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

2 thoughts on “LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE | Book Review

  1. The Book's Whiskers says:

    I really enjoyed this book. When I first heard there was a series being filmed/aired I got quite excited … but then I read some early reviews that said the book’s plot was changed for the series, so I became un-excited! But some friends (who also read the book) have recently written about the series and I think I might have to re-appraise my decision now. Have you watched it?

    Like

  2. lovelene says:

    Hi! I only watched the first episode, and I didn’t like the changes so I’m not sure if I should watch the whole series. Honestly, I’m still debating if I should watch it now haha I love the book so much it was hard for me to see the changes, especially how Mia carries herself in the series, I felt really disappointed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.