Book Review: SAD GIRLS

    • SAD GIRLS
    • Author: Lang Leav
    • Published: 30th May 2017
    • Read: June 23, 2017
    • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

A beautifully written and emotionally charged coming of age story, where young love, dark secrets, and tragedy collide.

School is almost out for Audrey, but the panic attacks are just beginning. Because Audrey told a lie and now her classmate, Ana, is dead. Just as her world begins to spin out of control, Audrey meets the enigmatic Rad—the boy who could turn it all around. But will their ill-timed romance drive her closer to the edge? 

review

Anyone who ever read Lang Leav’s poetry books are absolutely anticipating this debut novel of hers. The cover and title is an attention catcher, and it’s Lang Leav right? Wrong. This review might turn out into a rant, I would try so hard not to make it one. Here goes: First of all, let’s talk about the writing style. It is the main reason why I rated the way I did. I have so many not so pleasant thoughts while reading this book but I wouldn’t have felt it if the writing wasn’t good, so that means it is effective. Now that we’ve established the writing style, let’s move on to the contents. WHAT IN THE WORLD?! I though this is entitled as Sad Girls, apparently there is a totally different definition of the word SAD in terms of Lang Leav’s universe. I don’t see how they’re sad girls, when there was only one sad girl in the end of the book, and one at the beginning.

The main character, whom I refuse to call as protagonist because she doesn’t deserve to be called one when you are just playing to be a victim! *breathe in, breathe out* Okay, so the main character’s decisions are so crazy that it made me so mad I wanna rip out the pages, no I wanna rip out her hair! This is one crazy book, and I struggled so hard to finish this because this is unfair and mentally/emotionally disturbing. In summary, I just don’t see what makes them Sad Girls, oh boy, they aren’t sad at all (except for one though).

If you like All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood, Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson, and Tell Me Your Dreams by Sidney Sheldon, this book is definitely for you, but I really don’t wanna recommend this because this is just too much. Good luck!

signature

5 thoughts on “Book Review: SAD GIRLS

  1. It was on my TBR for May but until now I’m still struggling to read it. I had to read the first chapter a couple of times. I’m so behind my ARC review but it’s just so hard to get into it.

    Like

  2. Yes I have the same impression on the book, it was hard to get into the character that’s probably why it took me longer to read even if the book isn’t that long. Hope you finally finish this one so you’ll want to throw the book away too (hahaha kidding). i’m also behind on my ARC Reviews as well

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG I was so surprised upon reading Sad Girls. I was totally expecting something raw with heavy heartfelt description – similar to Leav’s poetry. Sad Girls was a pleasant surprise. It’s definitely heavy in dialogue which makes it more fit for a screen play than an actual novel, but I feel as though the premise and characters made up for the lack of style. The ending was absolutely shocking though – didn’t see that one coming!
    Great review – I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

