Readathon: ACOTAR + ACOMAF

SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER EVERYWHERE!!!

I never thought that I would ever write a readathon for any of Sarah J. Maas and/or Cassandra Clare books, but here I am. Such a bold move because I would never want to write something that would make my favorite fantasy books/authors be any less than how I really feel towards them. In honor of the upcoming release of ACOWAR, I decided that for the month of April, this will be my readathon series and boy does this post contain lots, LOTS of spoilers. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES

The first time I read ACOTAR was two years ago – yes, TWO FREAKING YEARS AGO – imagine how long that was. I really thought that I knew the book so well but it turned out I actually forgot some of the events (Okay, if I’m being 100% honest it has to be “most of the events“) so I couldn’t really say that rereading this felt like meeting an old friend because the answer is no. I felt like I’m a new person, and I’m reading a new book. Although I did remember the feeling (say, how much I freaking LOVE this book), I don’t remember the small (even the bigger) details of the story. It was like a new adventure for me, I still experienced ALL the excitement, nervousness, and thrill. I don’t think that for a second it was ever dull.

Now that we’ve established how long it took me to revisit Prythian again and how I love this book with or without any glamour or spell. I’d like to tell you than TAMLIN is my first love and I could see myself marrying him the THE ONE for Feyre and I could see them fighting against anyone who dares to conquer their court again nada nada nada BUT (yes the BIG but) can you feel the attraction between Feyre and Rhys? Who am I kidding right? This time of the year (2017, in case you’re wondering) where ACOWAR is about to come out, every post on bookstagram, tumblr, and everywhere is all about RHYSAND. How the hell did that happen so fast? Oh right, just the mention of his name there’s no denying that there was something more to him (more of that later), this thing that Sarah J. is trying to fill makes me feel like I’m betraying Tamlin. Remember the last few chapters? Where Feyre said that she’s willing to give Rhys every week of the year, I kinda understand Feyre’s perspective there that she saw something in Rhys and that he was also there always willing to help but, that line? it makes me question what it really was like for her to Tamlin, I couldn’t blame her if there’s two different kinds of love there, look what happened to Tessa, Will, and Jem (*See The Infernal Devices). Anyway, Feyre would figure that out on her own later. The thing is, no matter what’s gonna happen I would always have a special place for Tamlin in my heart.

Tamlin, my Tamlin. He gives me anything that I want and need provides Feyre everything that she needs and wants. He’s also very patient, an amazing friend to Lucien, and a very dedicated High Lord, his is such a huge heart. He’s perfect. It would absolutely break me if Feyre breaks his heart.

Another character that I love is Nesta! Yes, I did not forget that Nesta was such an evil character and that I hated her but I forgot that she’s the only one who wasn’t able to be glamoured by Tamlin and that she truly cared for Feyre. *sobs* She’s one of the best written characters by Sarah J. other than *drum roll* Lucien!!! Oh how am I gonna describe the BESTEST FRIEND I ever found on this book? I don’t wanna write anything that’s an understatement of how much I love him and how I appreciates all his effort. He’s like the Simon Lewis (*See The Mortal Instruments) of Feyre.

I’m not done with my rants yet, I still have another question. Remember that last part where Rhys was saying goodbye to Feyre when they’re still at Under the Mountain and he saw something that made his eyes widen and he became stiff and all? I have my suspicions that Rhys saw Feyre like she’s going to be the next Amarantha! *goosebumps* well, that’s just my theory tho. All will be answered below, hopefully.

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY

Okay so this portion of the book will be divided into parts, you would totally understand how this is divided since I would assume you already read ACOMAF because this post is just so full of SPOILERS. This is more of a read-along because everything that I’ll be writing below will be written in the real timeline.

Part 1.1
Okay so the part where Feyre isn’t that excited about the wedding is understandable because she don’t even enjoy wearing dresses, but to say no to Tamlin the way she did was like a huge betrayal. Thank goodness when she said that they needed to face their nightmares first before they say yes made everything better but still, I don’t understand why it broke me so much. I just felt like Tamlin deserves to know the truth.

Part 1.2
Yes, I think I’m on my way to understanding now. Tamlin is becoming so suffocating, and not being honest, why is this so full of secrets? Why? And Lucien, dear Lucien, I wish he’d have more freedom to express himself. I don’t want him to be less than a friend to Tamlin.

Part 2*
Okay, Page 156. NOW, I kinda get it. I really understood Feyre.

*After finishing the book, there was that other part wherein I did FULLY understood Feyre. So, it’s not really on this page.

I was a lonely, hopeless person, and I might have fallen in love with the first thing that showed me a hint of kindness and safety. And I’m thinking maybe he knew that – maybe not actively, but maybe he wanted to be that person for someone. And maybe that worked for who I was before. Maybe it doesn’t work for who – what I am now.

After that part above, I stopped writing my thoughts because…because I couldn’t stop reading and finished the book immediately! The things written below are every reaction after reading.

I just love how Sarah J. Maas gave justification to what happened to Tamlin and Rhysand. I would’ve hate her if she made Tamlin the worst person, but I totally get it that Tamlin just made wrong decisions and was overwhelmed with his love and emotions. About Lucien tho, I’m so sad that their friendship (Feyre and him) would have to come to this, but I hope that they could make things better in the third book. I don’t want their friendship to end like that. I hope they could forgive each other.

Elain and Nesta. OMG. I found Cassian and Nesta REALLY good together, there was such potential! I was really hoping that Nesta would be immortal and they could have a life together or maybe Cassian would just fall in love with her and they would marry even if Nesta would turn old and gray. But then the former happened so yay!! Then we have Elain, Elain and Lucien. Wow. That was a favorite. Just perfect I hope that none of them would die, but maybe Sarah J. would be really cruel so, I’ll just brace myself.

Morrigan, Azriel, and Amren. Well, what can I say? I love them. They’re family. They always make me teary eyed and everything. I hope that they would be spared and have a happy ending, I never thought I would be this scared in the upcoming ACOWAR war.

So obviously, I’m saving the best for last. RHYSAND. RHYS. HIGH LORD OF THE NIGHT COURT. ILLYRIAN WARRIOR. The most powerful High Lord of Prythian. Who am I? What was that I’m about to write? I don’t know anything, I only know one word..one name..Rhys. How many times did Rhysand made me cry because of this honest side and raw feelings of him, I couldn’t count. But here are some quotes/lines from the book that really hit me in the core (and this is not everything)

You think I don’t know how stories get written – how this story will be written? … I am the dark lord, who stole away the bride of spring. I am a demon, and a nightmare, and I will meet a bad end. He is the golden prince – the hero who will get to keep you as his reward for not dying of stupidity and arrogance.

Why does anyone cling to something? Maybe they love wherever they’re going so much that it’s worth it. Maybe they’ll keep coming back, until there’s only one star left. Maybe that one star will make the trip forever, out of hope that someday –  if it keeps coming back often enough – another star will find it again.

You might be my mate, but you remain your own person. You decide your fate – your choices. Not me. You chose yesterday. You choose every day. Forever. 

To the stars who listens – and the dreams that are answered. To the people who look at the stars  and wish. 

The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.

Until I closed this book I was breathless, I’m really scared to read the next book but at the same time I’m so relieved that I finally I won’t have to fear reading or seeing any spoilers! *haha* I’m hoping for the best. I could now say, I’m ready for the War.

If you made it until this point, thank you for reading my rants and emotions poured out on this post (which by the way is very fresh when I wrote this). Maybe you felt the same? I hope you enjoyed and relate some of the things I wrote here. Til next time of my Readathon posts.

3 thoughts on “Readathon: ACOTAR + ACOMAF

  1. I can’t wait for ACOWAR!!! I preordered it months ago. I plan to reread these books within the next few days to prepare myself 🙂 I know the book hangover from book 3 may ruin me though…… bookworm problems!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YESSS!! But you know how Maas books are really worth the book hangover! 😍 Enjoy your reread too! I’m excited for you. I didn’t preorder mine because I did that to Empire of Storms but then I didnt received my copy on time, I think I was months late. The local bookstore tho were really updated. I guess I’ll just buy from them the ACOWAR 😅

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

