Book Review: BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY

34227177

    • BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY
    • Author: Ruta Sepetys
    • Published: 22nd March 2011
    • Read: February 25, 2017
    • Source: Kindle Edition
    • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Lina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home, tearing her family from the comfortable life they’ve known. Separated from her father, forced onto a crowded and dirty train car, Lina, her mother, and her young brother slowly make their way north, crossing the Arctic Circle, to a work camp in the coldest reaches of Siberia. Here they are forced, under Stalin’s orders, to dig for beets and fight for their lives under the cruelest of conditions.

Lina finds solace in her art, meticulously–and at great risk–documenting events by drawing, hoping these messages will make their way to her father’s prison camp to let him know they are still alive. It is a long and harrowing journey, spanning years and covering 6,500 miles, but it is through incredible strength, love, and hope that Lina ultimately survives. Between Shades of Gray is a novel that will steal your breath and capture your heart

review

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetI.LOVE.THIS.BOOK. I will try really hard not to be biased in this review but I can’t promise that I wouldn’t recommend this book to other readers. First of all, the writing style is amazing because the character would just describe – in a not dull way – what she sees and it’s totally up to the reader to feel the pain or the happiness or relief. That’s what made me rate this book to 5 freakin stars. The reader did not dictate me what or how to feel, it just let me do my thing – which is crying.

I would recommend this book to the readers who have been reading for a long time and they’re looking for something new and painful. It’s just that, this is the kind of book that I wouldn’t usually pick up from the shelf but then now that I started reading books like this, I think that my range or genre of reading broadened. Of course, I’m not saying this book is only for those who’ve been reading for a long time, I would also recommend this to people who love historical fiction and politics, or history.

The downside of the book is the way it ended, I know I said I love this book so much but it isn’t perfect. I was hoping for more elaboration of how they really survived it all but I guess the author thinks that a letter was just enough to end it all but in summary, it was a journey I would never forget.

signature

One thought on “Book Review: BETWEEN SHADES OF GRAY

Leave a Reply

