ARC/DRC Reviews

ARC Review: THE SKY BETWEEN YOU AND ME

30063029

  • THE SKY BETWEEN YOU AND ME
  • Author: Catherine Alene
  • Publication: February 2017
  • Source: Kindle Edition  | DRC
  • Rating: ♥♥♥

Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

Raesha will do whatever it takes to win Nationals. For her, competing isn’t just about the speed of her horse or the thrill of the win. It’s about honoring her mother’s memory and holding on to a dream they once shared.

Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

For an athlete. Every second counts. Raesha knows minus five on the scale will let her sit deeper in the saddle, make her horse lighter on her feet. And lighter, leaner, faster gives her the edge she needs over the new girl on the team, a girl who keeps flirting with Raesha’s boyfriend and making plans with her best friend.

So Raesha focuses on minus five. But if she isn’t careful, she will lose more than just the people she loves. She will lose herself to Lighter. Leaner. Faster.

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy but this does not affect or influence my review.

This is a verse book and I love verse books except this one. Most of the first part were so hard to understand, even in the middle of the book there were still parts that I don’t get. I think it’s the writing style, I just don’t like it. I suffered so much in the first 5% but then I gave this book a chance until I was in 12% and still suffering, and I’m so proud to say that I finished this book. The writing got better on the later parts of the book but still (again) there are parts I couldn’t understand.

I rated this book 3 stars since it got through my skin. I never thought that this book would affect me so much. I feel really heavy right now. This says a lot about the impact of the story (just not the writing. I repeat, not the writing style). It never occurred to me that I could relate to the character so much and what’s going on inside her head. This is another book that tackled about a mental health issue, specifically eating disorder which is very rampant to women. Knowing the standards that society are setting up now and also the standard that we set on ourselves.

I still have questions about some of the characters because some weren’t given a closure. But I agree on how the book ended and wrapped things up. This might have been one of my recommended books that addresses mental health issues but sadly it’s the writing style that kept on bothering me.

signature

Leave a Reply

