Book Reviews

Book Review: ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS

26114135

    • ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS
    • Author: Bryn Greenwood
    • Published: 9th August 2016
    • Read: February 11, 2017
    • Source: Kindle Edition
    • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

As the daughter of a meth dealer, Wavy knows not to trust people, not even her own parents. Struggling to raise her little brother, eight-year-old Wavy is the only responsible “adult” around. She finds peace in the starry Midwestern night sky above the fields behind her house. One night everything changes when she witnesses one of her father’s thugs, Kellen, a tattooed ex-con with a heart of gold, wreck his motorcycle. What follows is a powerful and shocking love story between two unlikely people that asks tough questions, reminding us of all the ugly and wonderful things that life has to offer.

review

I believe this book is for the people with brave hearts and a broad mind. This book tackled a lot of social, emotional, and psychological issues that I bet it is so hard to forget. When I read this book, I already had an idea on what it is about because my best friend told me about it but it is way different when I read it myself, when I experienced it all first hand. There was a time when I actually said out loud to no one in particular these lines, “this is sick! you are sick” Yeah, this book is crazy.

That being said, I’m telling you the writing is amazing or else I wouldn’t be this affected. I don’t know how the author did that but when I am reading a child’s perspective, the thoughts and how that child talks changes. Then when it’s the POV of an adult or a man or a woman, it all shifts to it. While reading this, I felt so drained of emotions. When I look the bigger picture, it makes me feel mad at the characters but when I dive into their POVs there’s still a part of me that pity them, that breaks my heart. ugh. Talk about being torn. Another thing is that this book is very unpredictable, you might think that “okay, that was the plot twist” but then, here comes another and another and another one. I could never guess what the characters would decide or act in that situation, the only thing I’m certain of is that most of them are crazy.

If you’re looking for a new kind of book, a book that you’ll never forget in your whole life, a book that would make you realize how lucky you are right now that you’re just reading book reviews and the latest books, a book that makes you thank the universe that you’re not one of the characters or else you might’ve been dead, then I totally recommend this book (and because I want you to suffer like I did! *evil laugh*)

signature

1 thought on “Book Review: ALL THE UGLY AND WONDERFUL THINGS”

Leave a Reply

