ARC Review: LONG MAY SHE REIGN

30320053

  • LONG MAY SHE REIGN
  • Author: Rhiannon Thomas
  • Publication: February 2017
  • Read: January 31, 2017
  • Source: Kindle Edition  | DRC
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Freya was never meant be queen. Twenty third in line to the throne, she never dreamed of a life in the palace, and would much rather research in her laboratory than participate in the intrigues of court. However, when an extravagant banquet turns deadly and the king and those closest to him are poisoned, Freya suddenly finds herself on the throne.

Freya may have escaped the massacre, but she is far from safe. The nobles don’t respect her, her councillors want to control her, and with the mystery of who killed the king still unsolved, Freya knows that a single mistake could cost her the kingdom – and her life.

Freya is determined to survive, and that means uncovering the murderers herself. Until then, she can’t trust anyone. Not her advisors. Not the king’s dashing and enigmatic illegitimate son. Not even her own father, who always wanted the best for her, but also wanted more power for himself.

As Freya’s enemies close in and her loyalties are tested, she must decide if she is ready to rule and, if so, how far she is willing to go to keep the crown.

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy but this does not affect or influence my review.

Processed with VSCO with c7 presetTHIS BOOK IS AMAZING. Yes, those are the words that came out after finishing this book. I love Freya because her idea and personality might kind of typical for me since I read lots of historical fiction and fantasy books but what makes her different is her inclination in science. She is such a wise and witty character.

The plot twist. Although I have suspected this one specific character, I told myself that this person couldn’t be the one person Freya was looking for because I think it’s just too obvious, but then it turned out that it really is that person! Maybe that’s only because while Freya was trying to solve the mystery, I was also doing my own overthinking haha. Anyways, the greatest thing here is that everyone could be the suspect and even if I have my own suspicion I just couldn’t point my finger to one person the whole way through. The events and conversation kept me on my toes.

My favorite part. This is a spoiler free review, so don’t you guys worry. The part I love the most is the moment Freya found the last piece of the puzzle, my heart was thumping so hard!! I will never forget that part of the book when she realized who is responsible to all those things that happened. Amazing. Just amazing.

I totally recommend this book for everyone even if you’re not a fan of fantasy book.

signature

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: LONG MAY SHE REIGN

Leave a Reply

