ARC/DRC Reviews

ARC Review: COMING UP FOR AIR

22846825

  • COMING UP FOR AIR
  • Author: Miranda Kenneally
  • Publication: July 2017
  • Read: January 28, 2017
  • Source: Kindle Edition  | DRC
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Swim. Eat. Shower. School. Snack. Swim. Swim. Swim. Dinner. Homework. Bed. Repeat.

All of Maggie’s focus and free time is spent swimming. She’s not only striving to earn scholarships—she’s training to qualify for the Olympics. It helps that her best friend, Levi, is also on the team and cheers her on. But Levi’s already earned an Olympic try out, so she feels even more pressure to succeed. And it’s not until Maggie’s away on a college visit that she realizes how much of the “typical” high school experience she’s missed by being in the pool.

Not one to shy away from a challenge, Maggie decides to squeeze the most out of her senior year. First up? Making out with a guy. And Levi could be the perfect candidate. After all, they already spend a lot of time together. But as Maggie slowly starts to uncover new feelings for Levi, how much is she willing to lose to win?

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy but this does not affect or influence my review.

When I started reading this book, I was in the middle of studying for my midterms and I only wanted to read a few chapters but I couldn’t stop myself because surprisingly the book was really fun. I was less than 50% of the book and I was already cracking up. I love the characters’ development, the settings, the conversations. I feel like the book was trying to deliver something sexy but then you wouldn’t really mind it so much even if you’re not a fan of something like that because it was amazingly written, it’s funny and loving and also challenging. The relationship of the main characters were up and down the whole time, even if I already figured out what was gonna happen it never lessens my experience with the book. Lastly, I love the portrayal of Maggie here since she is a really good swimmer but then the author didn’t overdo her achievements. She let her lose sometimes and then let her win on her meets which I really appreciate.

This book totally took me out of my book slump! I’m probably gonna read the rest of the Hundred Oaks installment which I just discovered on goodreads. So if you enjoy Abbi Glines books but with less cheesy lines this book is probably for you.

signature

Leave a Reply

