Book Review: TELL ME THREE THINGS

4

    • TELL ME THREE THINGS
    • Author: Julie Buxbaum
    • Published: 5th April 2016
    • ISBN: 9780553535648
    • Read: December 27, 2016
    • Source: Kindle Edition
    • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

review

The book is full of ups-and-downs emotions it is so good I never wanted it to end. I think I already figured out the main twist just after a few chapters but still it never bothered me, it did try a little harder in confusing me regarding who really was SN, it still felt great and amazing when I learned who it was. When I even reached the last page I never thought it was the last one. I cried a little and laughed so much in the nerdiness and weirdness of the characters, they just felt so real to me like I’m part of them. Also the main character works in a place that I LOVE SO MUCH, you will envy her work as much as I did, that is something I am certain of.

Here are points I would enumerate why I love this book so much: the family, it was all messy and I could totally relate although not in the exact same situation but how Jessie feels and all that big change that suddenly trying to fill your life at the same time trying to hollow it out. Another is her relationship with the step brother, and I did not see that one coming it was so nice to see it slowly unfold; The old friendship Jessie had with her best friend and how they both grew in the story it was really touching and realistic; The new friendships she found, I could also totally relate to that one that’s why I really appreciate the development of the main character and how awkward she was at first and overthinking her actions; The BOYS, OMYGOD OVILLE! I had a crush on everyone, yes literally each one of them. They are not described as amazingly shining under the sun like edward cullen kind of thing, they are boys you get to fall for in high school and I really felt like I was in high school all over again. Lastly, it is the humor and honesty of the main character that got me hooked into it.

If you love Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes or even if you don’t I highly recommend this book! Like, READ IT RIGHT NOW kind of recommendation.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

