ARC Review: LOVE AND GRAVITY

lg

  • LOVE AND GRAVITY
  • Author: Samantha Sotto
  • Publication: February 2017
  • Read: December 23, 2016
  • Source: Kindle Edition  | DRC
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

Andrea Louviere is seven years old the first time he appears. While she’s alone in her bedroom, practicing her beloved cello, the light shivers and a crack forms in the wall. Through the crack, she sees a candle, a window, a desk—and a boy. Though no sound travels through the wall, the boy clearly sees Andrea, too. And then, just as quickly as it opened, the crack closes, and he vanishes.

Over the years, summoning the bright, magnetic boy becomes something of an obsession for Andrea. Then, on her seventeenth birthday, she receives a three-hundred-year-old love letter from Isaac Newton. Andrea knows that Isaac will change the world with his groundbreaking discoveries; the letter tells Andrea that she will change him.

As Isaac’s letters intensify in passion and intimacy, Andrea grows determined to follow his clues to their shared destiny—despite a burgeoning romance in the present. Only when she discovers the way into Isaac’s time does Andrea realize that she faces a heartbreaking decision: between what was . . . and what might be.

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy from Netgalley but this does not affect or influence my review.

Love and Gravity is the second book I read of Samantha Sotto and just like Before Ever After this book’s concept is as mysterious and interesting as the other. This book revolves around the absolute logic behind numbers/physics and the abstract wonder of love and all things mysterious. When I received this ARC I couldn’t wait to indulge myself into it but to be honest it took me ten chapters to finally get hooked into it, it’s not just the story that slowed me down, it is actually the way it was written. Sometimes it is hard to imagine what the book is trying to paint into my mind, I even have to reread the paragraph a few times because there are unfamiliar words and events. Also, there is the issue of transition because some parts of the book or like a chapter would be labeled as the present time but then in the next paragraph of that chapter it already transcended into the past, which confuses me and then there would be that moment when I realized that “oh, so this is the past” or “oh it is a different point of view.” And because of that I hated the part of the “past” because it slows my reading but then there was this amazing thing that changed the whole game, I didn’t care whoever’s POV I’m reading and I just couldn’t wait to finish the book. I didn’t even expect that I would cry over it, this is a book I would totally recommend to people who feel so deeply.

The story just gotten better the more I read through it and I believe this would be one of those books who made a mark in my heart that I will never forget. I know this is a work of fiction with facts into it but other than the lessons I learned about integers and fibonicci, I picked up something I won’t ever learn in the classroom. (Brace yourself because this is going to be deep) There are things in this world that even the greatest of minds can never fully explain, parts of it might be explained through science but there would always be things that would stay a wonder to us but that’s okay because it doesn’t lessen the value and importance of our experiences.

In addition this book exposed me to a lot of music which wouldn’t be my choice in any usual day but it is actually really good, and sad. Check out the official Spotify playlist made for this book. So, if you like Gayle Forman’s If I Stay-Where She Went Duology’s musically inclined books and if you enjoy time travel books like Claudia Gray’s A thousand Pieces of You you should pick this book for your next read! Lastly, if you read  Samantha Sotto’s Before Ever After you would expect that her books and writing style are kind of complicated, and you would know she has broad vocabulary (which I think is beneficial), so if you’re patient enough  then you’ll get to enjoy the whole thing. signature

Leave a Reply

