ARC Review: A TRAGIC KIND OF WONDERFUL

28575699

  • A TRAGIC KIND OF WONDERFUL
  • Author: Eric Lindstrom
  • Publication: February 2017
  • Read: September 23, 2016
  • Source: Kindle Edition  | DRC
  • Rating: ♥♥

For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm’s length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.

As the walls of Mel’s compartmentalized world crumble, she fears the worst–that her friends will abandon her if they learn the truth about what she’s been hiding. Can Mel bring herself to risk everything to find out?

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy but this does not affect or influence my review.

I rated this book with 2.5 stars. Personally, I love and enjoy mental health related books but there was just something I’m looking for that I didn’t find in this book, I couldn’t put a finger to it but I think maybe I was looking for more scenes or events but the book didn’t elaborate or build a rapport to the reader first. Usually I grow up with the character but in this book, I didn’t feel what the book was trying to make me feel. There was just no connection. On the brighter side, I enjoyed the concept of the book, it was good that it shows that one mental illness could never have the exact same experience of another with the same diagnosis. I appreciate the message that the author is trying to relay wherein people just couldn’t help what’s going on in their mind and it’s not wrong or shameful to seek for help.

I think that this book has a lot of potential and maybe other people’s reading experience is way different from mine but I’m just not gonna force myself to it, I honestly find it flat and the emotions just couldn’t  reach me. Sadly, I would not recommend this book.

signature

Leave a Reply

