Book Review: TIGER LILY

 
513TcheX6VL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

    • TIGER LILY
    • Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson
    • Published: 3rd July 2012
    • ISBN: 9780062114617
    • Read: June 17, 2016
    • Source: Trade Paperback
    • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair…

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

review

First and foremost, I would like to inform you that I am once again, clueless about the contents of this book before I picked it up. I didn’t even read the synopsis at the back and even when my best friend kept on recommending me this book, she never really gave any spoilers or whatever, she just mentioned Peter Pan’s name. So, based on that brief background on how I ended up reading and crying and wishing I never read this book because it is way way waaaaaay beautiful than I ever expected, here’s an unbiased review. 🙂

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetI started real slow on this book, it feels like the author was buying her time before she strucks you hard on your back (kidding!), but really, the whole time I’ve been reading the book I just kept on wondering what would happen next, where it would lead me, how all these events would be relevant, and I spent those time trying to picture out the setting of the story since it seemed like a tribe-kind of living.

At first I was hesitant to conclude anything about Tick Tock. I love how the author just leave things half explained – in a good way – letting the readers realized how it should or would have to be understood. Tiger Lily’s character development as a whole is actually the main reason that I poured every ounce of heartaches, I don’t know how to put it all into words without spoiling so I’m gonna leave it at that. Peter Pan’s mysteriousness added to the unpredictable quality of the story.

When I read this book, I never expected anything from it but all it gave me is a beautiful epic story which left me crying over decisions we have to choose in life, people we have to let go, time we needed to deal with, and memories we get to carry until the end of time.

signature

Leave a Reply

