ARC Review: UNDER THE DUSTY MOON

underthedustymoon

  • UNDER THE DUSTY MOON
  • Author: Suzanne Sutherland
  • Published: 23rd January 2016
  • ISBN:  9781459732025
  • Read: January 24, 2016
  • Source: e-ARC
  • Rating: ♥♥

She’s with the band, whether she likes it or not.

Victoria Mahler is the sixteen-year-old only daughter of rocker Micky Wayne, whose band, Dusty Moon, took the world by storm when Micky was just a teenager. The band broke up under mysterious circumstances, but, after years spent off the road being a mom, Micky’s solo career is finally starting to take off.

When an offer to tour Japan falls into her mom’s lap, Vic is left to spend the summer under the care of her distant grandmother, and without her built-in best friend. Fortunately, a boy with a secret geek side and a group of feminist game-makers save the season, and Vic starts to see herself as her own person, out from under her mother’s shadow.

But when Micky finally comes home — with a poorly chosen boyfriend in tow — all bets are off. Will Vic be able to maintain her newfound sense of self amidst the building thunder of Micky’s second chance at stardom? And through it all, will Micky still really be her best friend?

review

I received an advance digital reader’s copy from Netgalley but this does not affect or influence my review.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetThis book is pretty short, but it feels like forever to finish. The writing style is dragging, I couldn’t really explain why, it just never made me feel that there’s something more to it than the rants of a teenage daughter of a formerly popular rock star. Here are some things I wanna point out:

I don’t appreciate the kind of friendship Vic and Lucy has, it’s really confusing, the author is trying to tell the reader that Lucy is a special character because she’s the only close friend of the main character but she doesn’t act like one. Their interaction lacks emotions and instead of growing bond it just keeps on slipping out. I, myself only have a few real close friends and when I’m with them I could totally tell myself that I surely don’t need a lot since I know I could tell them anything.

Next, the way Mickey talks isn’t believable. I get that the author wants to make it look like she’s a really cool mom cause she’s a rock star and all that, but she’s 38 and she talks like a modern 15 year old. I kind of have the same situation like Mickey and Vic except that my mom isn’t a rock star but I assure you 38 year olds don’t talk like that.

Another one is the thing about Shaun. They’re 16 year olds, their attraction should be expressed more sharply, like intensely!! because that’s what teenagers do and feel and experience. In the book, Shaun was just another character to complete the supposedly boring life of a Victoria Mahler. Lastly, Victoria seemed more like a narrator of her mom’s life rather than being the main character of her story.

I feel like I’m reading a book with missing pages. It jumps from one thing to another and you’ll never know what happened in between. I say it’s just an Okay book, not really something I would recommend.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

