Book Review: NOVEMBER 9

  • november-nine-9781501110351_hrNOVEMBER 9
  • Author: Colleen Hoover
  • Published: 10th November 2015
  • ISBN: 9781501110344
  • Read: December 31, 2015
  • Source: Trade Paperback
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

review

quote1

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetBefore and after this book was published, I didn’t have any idea about the plot and the characters because it was written by Colleen Hoover, who crushes my emotions each time I pick up her books. I also don’t read reviews about it so that my reaction won’t be influenced by them. When I finished this book I could hardly see through my tears that blurred my vision. Again.

I admit that the idea of Ben being an aspiring writer is a huge point for me, I don’t know but as a reader and an aspiring writer too I really find it attractive, so the moment he mentioned that part I already fell in love with him. Fallon on the other hand is my most recent favorite role model when it comes to love life. Especially every time she mention that she would always listen to her mother’s advice about love, I really find it adorable.

quote2

The concept of the book was for the two of them to meet up on the same day every year with totally no communication is really amazing, I don’t know how or what inspired CoHo to write that kind of story but I love it. The only problem is that it’s hard to believe to be able to do it in this kind of generation where social media is everywhere, but then again I had a personal experience about that when no communication at all with a person. I like how at first I always notice Fallon’s scars and then forget about it later on, because of how Ben helped Fallon accept her scars and imperfections and looked at it positively. It was like I was on Fallon’s shoes the whole time, I also developed confidence and stopped thinking about how messed up I think I am because of the past.

quote3

I find the book thin and short, but it’s amazing how the characters grew up and how I developed (as a reader) a connection with the characters in a short time. Halfway through my read, I already had a feeling about the twist of the story and I was really right but it didn’t even lessened the emotions that poured out, and just when I thought that I already had it all figured out here comes one more twist! One more thing, I didn’t expect the book to end that way and that was another surprise for me! There’s not enough words I could write here to tell you how beautiful this book is! In fact, I promised myself that I will reread this book every month this year just to remind me for all the lessons I’ve learned from this book, that’s how much I’m in love with this one.

signature

Leave a Reply

