Book Reviews

Book Review: CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE

COHF_cover

  • CITY OF HEAVENLY FIRE
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Series: The Mortal Instruments #6
  • Published: 27th May 2014
  • ISBN: 9781481426305
  • Read: December 26, 2015
  • Source: Hardcover
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…

Love will be sacrificed and lives lost in the terrible battle for the fate of the word in the thrilling final installment of the classic urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments!

review

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetI stand corrected when I said that CoG and CoLS are my favorite because I believe that nothing can top CoHF’s 700+ pages. I would read this over and over again. Even reading Prologue, I was already moved because of what Emma and Julian had to witness, part of the reason I’m already excited for The Lady Midnight. Halfway through the book, I have difficulty reading because my tears are blurring my vision. I keep stopping to message my best friend how she survived the book, it was heartbreaking!

Disclaimer: Spoilers are everywhere

Because that which was new was almost always temporary. And that which was temporary broke your heart.

I understand how Clary felt towards Jonathan Morgenstern, he would always be the brother she never had and it hurts so bad to know that there should’ve been a possibility that he could be the person he was supposed to be only if Valentine didn’t do what he did. I was really shocked about Simon!  I kept reading articles about Shadowhunter Academy book and how Simon was the main character there but I didn’t know how it would go the way it did. It crushed me to the bones that Simon remembers nothing, but then whoops! Magnus found a solution. I couldn’t help but curse Cassandra Clare for doing this to me, I even asked myself Why did I freakin’ engaged myself to this kind of misery?

She wept for herself and the changes that had been wrought in her, because sometimes even change for the better felt like a little death.

And let’s not forget about how Jace and Clary managed to do IT in hell. wow guys, literally in hell. I was really proud of their control when they were still at the normal dimension, but I guess when you’re in hell you couldn’t help but lose it all and be bad (haha). It really cracked me up when Alec said “My eyes, my eyes” and “Why does this keep on happening?” when he walked in on Simon and Izzy kissing again in a good “position”. If I list everything, I’m gonna have to just retype all of the things that happened in the book, because all of it are my favorite. Even the part where Maia has to lose Jordan that way, it really hurts, especially when Maia revealed what she was really supposed to tell Jordan before he died. It was all so sad but then everything fell into the right place in the end, for them anyway because I feel like there’s more to what happened to Emma’s parents, so I’m really looking forward to more actions.

Sometimes you must lose everything to gain it again, and the regaining is the sweeter for the pain of loss

This book is the perfect package that covers the story of action, comedy, mystery, love, losing, gaining, acceptance, family, friends, and romance.

signature

Leave a Reply

