Book Reviews

Book Review: CITY OF LOST SOULS

COLS_cover

  • CITY OF LOST SOULS 
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Series: The Mortal Instruments #6
  • Published: 8th May 2012
  • ISBN: 1442416866
  • Read: December 21, 2015
  • Source: Hardcover
  • Rating:  ♥♥♥♥♥

The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments continues—and so do the thrills and danger for Jace, Clary, and Simon.

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

review

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetCoLS is the fifth installment in the The Mortal Instruments series, and I could totally say that in this book, Clary finally grew up tho she’s still stubborn, but at least I know its not all puppy love and great kisses. Everyone here is like walking in a fragile line, that is why every time they talk it feels like a punch in the gut and my heart feels like breaking, I couldn’t stop the tears that rolled down my face, it’s all so touching. I think this is my favorite book along with CoG, because it’s so full of action, tension, and of course, sarcasm which made it all more fun. This is also Clary’s moment to finally do something huge, it made it more interesting if she’ll succeed or not.

Each of the characters sacrificed something for the people they love, but remember how Power Puff Girls’ episodes ending all the time? “So once again, the day is saved…” by Simon Lewis. He’s like the bestest friend in the world, I don’t know if there’s anything ANYTHING that Clary could do to make up on the things Simon did for her, well he’s her best friend afterall, Clary is just so lucky to have him. He deserves an award, and Magnus too. Speaking of which, I knew it would happen between them and Alec, just not so soon and not to end up the way it did, yet I’m still hoping to have more Malec moments in the next book because WHY NOT? If I were Magnus too, I’d feel that way. One of my all time favorites is Izzy, and I really found it amusing and touching how slowly she’s taking down her walls, she’s one hell of a role model of a strong and brave woman.

I love Jace, he was just there the whole time but I missed him still. I really understood how Clary felt the whole time she was with him. I miss Luke too, he didn’t really do anything in this book, also I was hoping Jocelyn would do something extreme and not be worried and angry all the time. On the other hand, what happened to Jordan and Maia was really enjoyable, it finally fell into place. Throughout the book, I was so confused about Sebastian, though I already know in the past that he was made to be who he is and that’s how he should be, but the actions and gestures he showed contradicts and confused what I believed in. I am readying myself for what Maureen is trying to play here that’s why I am so looking forward to the coming war, at the same time I am as scared and excited for the coming what 700+ pages to read?

You know a great writer when she laid down the facts in front of you yet still holds the power that can make you feel confused and crazy and loved and fun!

 signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review: CITY OF LOST SOULS”

  1. I highly recommend this series! ideally you should read the infernal devices so you won’t have any spoilers, but it’s set in a victorian era so if you’re not into historical fiction kind of books you can read TMI directly and if you fall in love with the series you can stop in City of Glass (third book) and read the prequel (infernal devices) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

