Book Review: CITY OF BONES

cob

  • CITY OF BONES 
  • Author: Cassandra Clare
  • Series: The Mortal Instruments #1
  • Published: 27th March 2007
  • ISBN: 1416914285
  • Read count: 2
  • Read: May 10, 2013  | October 31,2015
  • Source: Kindle edition |  Hardcover
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else  and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

 This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons.  It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a  jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother  disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary  mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters  would like to know…

review

CoB is the first book of The Mortal Instruments series. I read the prequel, The Infernal Devices first before I started this, it didn’t really have any spoilers.  I’ve read this book twice, the first time was before I saw the movie and reread it after so I could continuously read the whole series. I admit after seeing the movie, I was really disappointed and it initially ruined the characters in my head but of course I got over it.

Disclaimer: Spoilers are everywhere here!

The first time I finished reading CoB, I really did ask my best friend about the incest thing because she already started the second book beforehand. I felt that the incest situation isn’t really true, but I just have to hear it from other people. The book was published for a long time now, spoilers are probably just sitting around but it never stopped me from flipping through until the last page. I think it’s totally not about the ending of the book but how it all happened and how it’s gonna be, since we all ship Clace, tho the thought of being in love with your biological brother is so gross, it became the main reason that I was dying to know how Cassandra Clare would give me the answers I’d like to hear, because there better be one! I can’t read a book with this kind of forbidden love. 

Not everything that’s true needs to be said.

Clary is the kind of heroine you get mad at because of her stubbornness, but then you realized that somehow we all have a piece of being a Clary in real life too. Jace on the other hand has the perfect ingredient of a bad boy sexiness and a huge teaspoon of sarcasm who seemed really tough on the outside yet when you fell into his good side, you’re gonna melt more than your homemade s’mores did. I don’t really mind Alec’s sexuality but I didn’t really expected it too. I thought that he hated Clary because he likes her too, turns out it’s a totally different reason. Izzy is one of my favorites, she’s so badass. Clary’s and Jace’s situation is really weird, I still can’t get over it! One of the things I like about this book is the Shadow world, it’s so cool, all those runes and glamour. Another thing, I don’t know if it’s because the book is in third person perspective but I love how it just doesn’t totally evolve around Clary and Jace’s love story, it’s like everyone has their time to share their side and their own history. I still have a lot of questions about the shadow world and its boundaries. One part to be noted is the love triangle. I love Simon! he’s the best friend I never have. I wonder if Clary will give him a chance about his feelings. I love all the characters in the book, and I love how it keeps on surprising me, like Hodge’s involvement to Valentine, that was so unexpected. Well, actually the most unexpected thing was Jocelyn being Valentine’s wife! Okay okay, Jace being Clary’s brother. Okay the whole book was so full of surprises I couldn’t put it down! 

The most terrible things men do, they do in the name of love.

The book cover didn’t give away the things that I expected from this book, but this is a  totally entertaining read, a great escape from reality. Also, I understood now what the title of the book is about. The bad side of this is when you don’t continue the whole series, because you’ll never really know what it is all about, and the answers to the remaining mystery of the book, which is the point of it being a series anyway. All in all, this is a series I’m willing to invest my time with.

signature

4 thoughts on “Book Review: CITY OF BONES

Leave a Reply

