Book Review: SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE

  • since youve been gone
  • SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE
  • Author: Morgan Matson
  • ISBN: 1442435003
  • Published: 6th May 2014
  • Read: August 8, 2015
  • Source: Trade Paperback
  • Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best  friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

review

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetThis is my first book of Matson and I love it! I like how the story was presented, especially the mysteriousness of Sloane’s disappearance. I believe the lesson here is that the list wasn’t really finding out what happened to Sloane, but about finding Emily’s self. She’s become so dependent to her best friend on the point that she lost herself and couldn’t even make her own friends.

I started slow on the book, I only got hooked on the third chapter. Though I kinda already predicted the reason behind Sloane’s disappearance just before I got halfway from the book, I totally enjoyed it because of the List. I even got inspired to make my own list and hopefully have as much fun as Emily did. The book also contained lots of playlist which I also listened to.

Besides finding herself, Emily also found a new circle of friends and a random one at that. She faced a lot of decision making challenges and facing fears that test her courage. It also taught Emily that it’s okay to let loose for awhile without losing who you are. Another fun part that made the list better is Frank Porter. I didn’t really know where it would take them, so that was one mystery to be solved. The thing about Morgan Matson’s Since you’ve been gone, everything is slow moving but realistic. Things really do take time to happen, questions will be answered in time, you just have to wait and see.

BONUS: I am such a fan that I actually had a shoot with my best friend that mimicks the concept of this book.

signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review: SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE

Leave a Reply

